Effective November 19th, 2018, South Carolina law will be amended in order to outline specific penalties for violating rules related to low-speed vehicles, including golf carts.
Here are a few reminders golf cart owners on Hilton Head Island and surrounding areas should keep in mind before the new laws take effect:
1) Violation of Golf Cart Laws
Breaking a golf cart law is now considered a misdemeanor. A person may be punished with a fine of up to $100 or up to 30 days in jail unless the offense is categorized as a felony according to South Carolina law.
2) Driver Eligibility Requirements
To drive a golf cart, a person must be at least 16 years old and possess a valid driver’s license as well as proof of liability insurance.
3) Vehicle Registration
All golf carts must be registered with the South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles and display a permit decal. Golf cart permits must be renewed every five years or if you change your address.
4) Roadway Regulations
Golf cart drivers must remain within 4 miles of the vehicle registration address and may only drive on roadways with a speed limit of 35 mph or less. The Town of Bluffton does not permit driving after dark. Rules vary by municipality and gated community, so be sure to check the laws and regulations in your area.
As the end of the year draws near, be sure to enjoy the sights of the beautiful Lowcountry safely from the comfort of your golf cart.
You can follow our blog…there’s something new every Friday. Just click on the RSS feed button below to subscribe. We post an entertaining assortment of tips, helpful information and announcements from our Group, written by various authors within our team. We hope you enjoy! Thank you for your continued loyalty and entrusting us with your important real estate transition!